scdwoodworks

Chambered cedar surfboard

 

 

In 2008 and childhood friend sent me a copy of “Surfers path” a surfing magazine, but this edition was in issue dedicated to wooden surfboards.  The history, the innovators, the builders, the surfers, the traditions and the wood.  The opening image to the article is a beautiful chambered cedar fish, something that really caught my attention and planted this seed of imagination, and inspiration.  In time I thought, I’m going to build one, a fully functional, chambered red cedar surfboard.  Well, its on display at this years Eastside Culture Crawl in Vancouver, waiting for the sealer coat, and I hear people say “Thats too good to use, it would be great on the wall”, for me its the opposite, its too good to hang on the wall, it will be great in the water.

This entry was published on November 20, 2016 at 6:26 pm and is filed under Chambered surfboards. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

2 thoughts on “Chambered cedar surfboard

  1. Are you still making red cedar surfboards?

    • Hi Patti,
      Yes, I’m still making surfboards, although the most recent chambered board was made using a combination of mostly spruce and red cedar. I’m now also making boards using a combination of cork rails, reclaimed cedar that I’ve turned into 1/8” veneer for the deck deck and a eps foam substrate. Let me know if you have further questions.

      Although I’m not very active on instagram there are a few more posts there than my blog.

      @scdwoodworks.

      Stu.

      Sent from my iPad

so, what do you really think?